Excellence in Science Education Awards

Instituted by Lawrence Hall of Science in 2004, these awards honor individuals and organizations whose work reflects a deep and lasting commitment to science education. We celebrate their contributions to the advancement of literacy in science, mathematics, and technology. At the 2008 Global Groove Gala, the Hall recognized the following for their outstanding achievements in science and mathematics education.

Dr. Alan Friedman

For 22 years until his retirement in 2006, Dr. Alan J. Friedman served as Director of the New York Hall of Science, New York City’s public science-technology center. Under his leadership it won special recognition for encouraging new technologies, creating new models for teacher training, serving an extraordinarily diverse audience, and evaluating the effectiveness of informal science learning. The American Association for the Advancement of Science recognized Dr. Friedman with its Award for Public Understanding of Science and Technology. He is a Fellow of the America Association for the Advancement of Science and a Fellow of the New York Academy of Sciences, a recipient of the Association of Science-Technology Centers’ Fellow Award, and the American Institute of Physics’ Andrew Gemant Award.

Dr. Friedman attended the Georgia Institute of Technology and earned a Ph.D. in physics from Florida State University. After teaching at Hiram College in Ohio, he decided in 1972 to give up academic physics and specialize in science museums, joining the staff of the Lawrence Hall of Science as the founding director of the astronomy and physics education program. During his 12 years at LHS, Dr. Friedman established the William K. Holt Planetarium and created the interactive format that led to that facility being named the Best Planetarium in the World. He also served as a consultant to the Cité des Sciences et de l’Industrie, Paris. A noted expert on Einstein and a scholar of the intersection of art and science, Dr. Friedman is known as an innovative, creative leader whose advocacy and work on behalf of informal science education has strengthened the field and influenced our work worldwide. 

2008 Interview with Dr. Alan Friedman
Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5Part 6Part 7

You may also watch these on our YouTube channel.


Science Channel LogoDiscovery Communications/Science Channel

 As the only television network dedicated entirely to science, Science Channel celebrates the cause and effect, the trials and errors, and the “eureka” moments that only science can deliver. Through in-depth documentaries, fascinating series, current events coverage, and digital resources, the network immerses viewers in a full spectrum of global scientific topics ranging from string theory to outrageous inventions.

Science Channel’s annual programming events such as Space Week and its distinct specials with leading researchers including Dr. J. Craig Venter, Stephen Hawking, and Nobel laureate Hamilton Smith help the public to know how science touches their daily lives. Ongoing relationships with some of the world’s leading scientific organizations, including AAAS and NASA, give Science Channel access to document some of the most important scientific advancements as they happen. The network’s website provides a deep dive into topics both covered and uncovered on the network; and includes interviews with leading experts, exclusive videos, compelling photos, games, and more.

The network seeks to help viewers embrace science and is committed to encouraging future science enthusiasts. Science Channel’s support of the Discovery Education/3M Young Scientist Challenge targets middle school students in the years when research indicates interest in science begins to fade. The Young Scientist Challenge encourages them to explore core scientific concepts and creatively and passionately communicate their findings. Celebrating its 10-year milestone, a vital component of the 2008 competition will be students’ innovative use of everyday technology to communicate scientific knowledge.

Past Excellence in Science Education Award Recipients

Employees Community Fund (ECF) of Boeing California
Bruce Alberts, Ph.D.

F. James Rutherford